India wins T20 World Cup

India wins T20 World Cup

India won the T20 World Cup title with a thrilling seven run victory over South Africa in a classic final at Kensington Oval on Saturday.

Virat Kohli’s 76 led India to a strong 176-7 but after Heinrich Klaasen blasted a superb 52 from 27 balls South Africa were closing in on victory only to be halted by some outstanding Indian bowling at the end.
South Africa ended on 169-8 with Hardik Pandya taking 3-20 for India to the delight of the huge Indian following at the stadium.Kohli had struggled in the tournament but he delivered his best innings at the perfect moment with his balanced batting.

It was just what was needed for India who had slipped to 34 for three after their captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bat.

In what has been a low scoring tournament, the total looked to be a daunting one for South Africa but then Quinton de Kock (39) and Tristan Stubbs (31) set the Proteeas on their way before Klaasen turned the game in their direction in the 15th over, smashing Axar Patel for 24 including two fours and two sixes.

When Klaasen was finally removed, caught behind off Hardik Pandya, the Proteas needed just 26 off the last 23 balls.

Knowing they had to take the initiative, Rohit turned early for Jasprit Bumrah’s final over and he answered the skipper’s call perfectly, bowling Marco Jansen and conceding just two runs in the 18th over.

That meant South Africa needed 20 from the final two overs and Arshdeep Singh bowled a superb length to allow just four.

With 16 to win off the last over, Pandya bowled a full-toss at Miller who smashed it high straight down the ground but Suryakumar Yadav produced a breath-taking catch on the boundary, throwing the ball back into play before he crossed the ropes and then returning to complete the catch.

Kagiso Rabada came in and edged a four and Pandya showed some nerves with a wide but the seamer kept his cool to ensure silverware for India after they lost in last year’s 50 Over World Cup on home soil.

SOUTH AFRICA: Quinton de Kock (wkt), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram (captain), Tristan Stubbs, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi.

INDIA: Rohit Sharma (captain), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wkt), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh.

Source: SABC

In other news – Megan Thee Stallion Album Release Party Ends In Fight Between Security and Reality Star

Megan Thee Stallion‘s album release party was filled with drama when a fight went down between her security and a reality star.

Megan Thee Stallion

TMZ obtained footage from the Friday (June 28) event that showed Bad Boys: Los Angeles cast member and celebrity hairstylist Jonathan Wright landing a slap on one of Meg’s protectors before the brawl was stopped. Read more

The post India wins T20 World Cup appeared first on