Here are the positions given to the DA in the new SA cabinet

Here are the positions given to the DA in the new SA cabinet

President Cyril Ramaphosa, re-elected for a second term after the ANC lost its outright majority, on Sunday night unveiled his new Cabinet that consists of members of the Democratic Alliance and various other political parties who have signed on to be part of the Government of National Unity.

Despite a last minute push by Julius Malema’s Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) to be part of the Government of National Unity – with a condition that it must not include the DA and Freedom Front Plus – Ramaphosa struck a deal with DA leader John Steenhuisen that will see the DA lead six ministries.

The DA was also given six deputy ministries.

Ramaphosa announced that the deputy president will be Paul Mashatile while the leader of the DA, John Steenhuisen was given the position of Minister of Agriculture.

Ramaphosa said that the establishment of the Government of National Unity in its current form is unprecedented in the history of the country’s democracy.

“We have had to consider how to form the new government in a manner that advances the national interest, that gives due consideration to the outcome of the election and that makes use of the respective capabilities within each of the parties,” Ramaphosa said.

We have had to consider not only the immediate needs of the country.

Other positions given to the DA include:

  • Minister Basic Education: Siviwe Gwarube
  • Minister of Communications: Solly Malatsi
  • Minister of Public Works: Dean MacPherson
  • Minister Home Affairs: Leon Schreiber
  • Minister of Environmental Affairs: Dion George

Ramaphosa said it was necessary to separate certain portfolios to ensure that there is sufficient focus on key issues.

He revealed that the ministries of Electricity and Energy will be merged, there will be a separate ministry of Mineral and Petroleum Resources.

The ministry of Agriculture will be separated from the ministry of Land Reform and Rural Development while the ministry of Higher Education will be separated from the ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation.

The ministry of Justice and Constitutional Development will be separated from the ministry of Correctional Services and there will no longer be a Ministry of Public Enterprises.

“The coordination of the relevant public enterprises will be located in the Presidency during the process of implementing a new shareholder model,” Ramaphosa said.

This after weeks of negotiations, leaked letters and public spats, that culminated in the DA and the ANC reaching a breakthrough on Saturday after crisis talks around cabinet positions were ironed out.

After haggling over ministry of Trade and Industry which was initially offered to the DA but subsequently pulled by Ramaphosa, the president gave the DA the following ministries:

After not getting more than 50% of the votes in the May 29, General Elections, the ANC under Ramaphosa has been forced into co-governing South Africa with other parties.

The establishment of the seventh administration began with the signing of a statement of intent which has been signed by ANC, DA, Patriotic Alliance, GOOD, Al Jama-ah, Rise Mzansi, PAC, UDM, IFP, and the FF Plus.

This is a developing story.

-IOL Politics

In other news – WATCH: Soccer star Thembinkosi Lorch buys a new truck

Well-known South African soccer star, and now businessman, Thembinkosi Lorch has recently made headlines with his latest purchase – a brand-new truck.

Thembinkosi Lorch

The video capturing this exciting moment has been circulating on social media, garnering significant attention from fans and followers. Lorch, who plays for Mamelodi Sundowns, is known for his skills and flair off the field. Read More

The post Here are the positions given to the DA in the new SA cabinet appeared first on